image

The Land of Dreams…

So if any of you have been living under a rock or just not been reading my musings, you’d NOT know that Dreamland, on Margate seafront, has opened again.

It has…and you need to go and see it for yourself.

I was in London on the Friday it begun its new life, so I hopped on the train at Kings Cross St Pancras to get back for the eagerly anticipated opening. I was greeted by an old fashioned ticket collector and lots of interesting looking people dressed in vintage clothes. It was a fun train journey!

Once we had braved the queues to get in (it was a popular day and evening to go) Dreamland in all its glory appeared in front of us. Neapolitan ice cream colours, signage with witty slogans and rides that take you back to childhood were before us and the question was where to go first. Was it ice cream, a ride on the carousel or head straight to the roller disco to embarrass myself on skates?

My first stop was the ‘Miniscule of Sound’, a tiny nightclub holding about 8 people – 4 of us squeezed in with some other revellers and we all emerged five minutes later with smiles on our faces and the beat of the music well and truly in us. The beat and enthusiasm continued until late into the evening…

Dreamland is a wonderful sight for your eyes with loads of great rides to go on and we were entertained by lots of amazing live music and DJs through the evening. The drinks flowed and we danced into the night. I can’t wait for a return visit to be a kid again and have a go on ALL of the rides one by one. I’ll let you know which is my favourite one…
http://www.dreamland.co.uk

Using my legs…

I did one thing that I haven’t done for ages and that was walk from my house in Broadstairs along the coast to Ramsgate (and back!)

Now that I don’t have a dog, I feel I have to make a reason to walk on the beach – it’s silly, because as soon as I can feel the sand underfoot and smell the familiar salty sea air, I wonder why it’s taken me so long to do it again.

I returned to Broadstairs feeling refreshed and happy that I’d made time to get some fresh air. We are so lucky to live near the sea.
When was the last time you went for a walk on the beach?

Sunday lunch…

I went out for lunch on Sunday so I didn’t have to cook – what a treat! I went somewhere I’ve been many times and have written about them before – The Royal Harbour Brasserie continues to be really good at what they do and while sitting outside, with the sun beating on our faces, at the end of Ramsgate pier – life couldn’t feel much better.

Fresh sea bass and delicious vegetables washed down with a cold pint was exactly what I needed after a fun filled weekend.

Incidentally, the owners have opened a ‘Fish and Beer’ beer at 37 Albion street, Broadstairs. I can’t wait to try it and will let you all know…
The Royal Harbour Brasserie – http://www.royalharbourbrasserie.co.uk 01843 599059
Fish and Beer – 01843 863003

One Response to “What I’ve done recently…”

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS